Seventeen Students Become AP Scholars

Recognizing 17 students for academic excellence, the College Board awarded them as Advanced Placement Scholars. There are four levels of distinction including National AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Distinction, AP Scholar with Honor and AP Scholar.


The recipients of the AP Scholar with Distinction were senior Leah Beltrone and juniors Kesavan Srivilliputhur and Hannah Chen. These students earned a score of 3.5 on all AP exams taken and score a three or higher on five or more exams.


“I had to push myself to study since there was a lot of material to cover but I enjoyed it,” Srivilliputhur said.


Junior Donna Son and seniors T.J. Akram, Madeleine Hall, and Alyssa Williamson were considered as AP Scholars with Honor. They got an average score of 3.25 on all their AP exams and a score of three or higher on four or more exams.


“Studying for my tests was worth my time because I can get ahead in college,” Capone said. “It wasn’t about the recognition it was more about taking the opportunities given to me to succeed.”


The students earning the award for AP Scholar were juniors Kolt Bundy, Avery Delost, Haining Liu, Calista Martin, Anna Schmieding, and Gabriella Upchurch along with seniors Melanie Capone, Steven Chavez, Jazmyn Robles and Amy Sanders. They received a score of three or higher on three or more AP exams.


“I studied really hard for my AP Physics test because somebody told me I wasn’t going to pass so I decided to prove them wrong and got a four out of five,” Delost said.